Safety for students at Goulburn West PS and Boorowa Central will be boosted by two of 98 new school crossing supervisors rolling out across the state in the coming months, under the NSW Government’s $18.5 million commitment to improve student safety.

Member for Goulburn Wendy Tuckerman MP said Goulburn West and Boorowa Central were two of 98 schools across the state preparing to welcome a new school crossing supervisor.

“The new supervisors will monitor children at the crossing on Combermere Street in Goulburn and Pudman Street in Boorowa as they walk to and from school,” Mrs Tuckerman said.

“We look forward to welcoming our new school crossing supervisor(s) over the coming months as they join about 1300 others across the state helping to keep primary school students safe.

“Recruitment for these position will open shortly, and I strongly encourage dedicated people interested in serving their community to apply.”

Acting Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Paul Toole said the NSW Government was really putting the spotlight on road safety for the regions’ youngest road users who were still getting used to the road rules.

“In January last year we announced an expanded criteria, which would see 300 new school crossing supervisors fast-tracked for primary schools across the state, so that even more students could safely cross the road on their way to and from school,” Mr Toole said.

“I’m pleased that of the 98 new positions, 38 of them will be in regional schools, including at ones that haven’t had a crossing supervisor before.

“Our school crossing supervisors are part of a suite of measures to keep kids safe, including reduced speed limits in school zones, high-visibility safety treatments like signs, “dragon’s teeth” road markings and flashing lights.”

Most school zones are in effect from 8am to 9.30am and 2.30pm and 4pm when higher fines and demerit points apply.

Once the new batch of 98 are in place it will take the total of new school crossing supervisors to 267.

To see the full list of all new School Crossing Supervisors announced within the program so far, go to: